Feeding the Poor

Part of only being almost an adult is that we’re only almost financially responsible. Sometimes, happy hour or froyo or that Pitbull/Enrique concert (yeah, you heard me right) is just FAR more appealing than something mundane… Like being able to pay for a week of groceries. That being said, we all have to learn how to cut corners. The recipe below is cheap, simple, and can easily be tailored depending what you’re feeling for the week (or just how poor you are). I love how colorful it is, and it is tasty enough to excite me on even the dreariest of days.

Black Bean and Sweet Corn Salad with Lime Dressing

IMG_432435225-8 (1) copy

You need:

  • can of black beans
  • can of corn (Though this week I used half a bag of frozen—thanks Kim!)
  • tomatoes (As a tomato lover, I say the more the merrier. This is up to you.)
  • red onion
  • Newman’s Own Lime Lite Vinaigrette

You might choose to add:

  • diced avocado
  • crumbled feta
  • chickpeas (I roasted mine this week!)
  • cilantro
  • anything else in the mexi-flavor realm

Assembly can be done in any order. Dice the tomatoes (sometimes I go with bigger chunks, sometimes smaller—it really is whatever you’re feeling), drain (like really drain, maybe even pour over a paper towel first) the corn and the beans, dice the red onion (the smaller the better, in my opinion!), and throw it all in a bowl. This week, I roasted the chickpeas (with a little salt, pepper, and Williams Sonoma Potlatch Seasoning) to add some crunch. Chickpeas are one of my favorite foods to keep on hand because they are so versatile, so cheap, and packed with filling protein and fiber. I chopped up some cilantro this week for an extra kick, and decided to forgo the feta. When I don’t have fresh limes on hand, I add dressing day by day so the ingredients don’t get too soggy. Avocado is another day-by-day addition, because nobody likes brown avocado.

beans and tomatos unnamed

Roasting the chickpeas (30 mins at 450F) added a little extra time this week, but normally I can make this salad in 10 minutes or less! It’s great over greens or quinoa, on its own, scooped up with tortilla chips, and even heated up if you are experiencing a bone-chilling winter day! When the holidays are over and the winter doldrums hit, or sometimes just because it’s Tuesday and the weekend feels an eternity away, it always helps me to have a lunch I can look forward to. And for a fraction of the prices at any salad shop or deli, it has become a repeat offender in my “diet”. Did I mention it is vegetarian and gluten-free? Though some grilled chicken or steak on top would also rock.

finished salad

Bon apetit! Or should I say.. ¡OLÉ!

 

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feeding the Poor

  1. I love how simple, easy, and delicious this is!

    Like

  2. Kat Tanita says:

    This looks delicious! Will definitely have to try! 🙂

    xx Kat
    http://www.withlovefromkat.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

